Chakra Meditation

Yoga is essentially a spiritual discipline based on experiential and transcendental phenomena. It focuses on bringing a positive harmony between mind and body. It is an art and science of healthy living. The science of yoga has its origin thousands of years ago, long before the first religions or belief systems were born.

Did you know? In the yogic lore, Shiva is seen as the first yogi or Adi yogi, and the first Guru or Adi Guru.

Let us First Understand some Types of Yoga

Kundalini yoga derives from kundalini, defined in Vedantic culture as the energy that lies dormant at the base of the spine until it is activated and channeled upward through the chakras in the process of spiritual evolution.

Bahiranga yoga is a Sanskrit term that means ‘external’ or ‘outside’. In the 8-fold path of yoga, it is associated with the first 5 limbs – Yama, Niyama, Asana, Pranayama, and Pratyahara.

The fifth limb. Pratyahara acts as a bridge connecting the external to the internal Practice.

Antaranga yoga is common to all paths of Yoga and is verily Kundalini Yoga which leads a yogi to the ultimate state of consciousness.

Moving ahead, Let us Understand the Relevance of Kundalini Yoga for Life & Living

Hatha Yoga (II:2) says that mind and bodily energy are interdependent. If one is calm and stable the other will ultimately become calm and stable. Chakra Meditation, being a part of Hatha Yoga and Kundalini Yoga, has rather direct influence on energy dynamics of the body and thereby direct influence on the mental dynamics.

What is the main aim of Chakra Meditation? 

The main aim of chakra meditation is to normalize the over-activated, depleted, imbalanced chakras. It mainly aims to balance and energize all the chakras for proper physical, mental and spiritual health.

There are seven main chakras, four in our upper body, which govern our mental phenomenon, and three in the lower body, which govern the instinctual domain of our being. The names are Muladhar chakra, Swadhisthan chakra, Manipura chakra, Anahata chakra, Visuddhi chakra, Ajna chakra and Sahasrara chakra.

Thus chakras act as points of connection between our physical and non-physical bodies, enabling energies to flow from one of these vehicles of manifestation to the other. They are means by which we absorb energy from and externalize it to the environment and also exchange energy with others. Generally, some of our chakras are not opened, which means they are not fully operative. If we want to be at peace with ourselves, the balance of chakras is a must pre-requisite. When all our chakras are opened, the energy evens out and becomes balanced.

Scientific yoga research shows immense benefits of yoga and meditation in general. Let us dive deep into what chakra meditation has to offer.

Benefits and Implications of Chakra Meditation are as Follows:

  • Balancing Muladhara Chakra: If the root chakra is not opened adequately, one feels imbalanced, insensible, unstable, and insecure. The person whose root chakra is opened adequately is very much connected to the physical body and trusts people around him/her. If it is unbalanced /under-active, one feels nervous and fearful. In some people Root chakra is overactive. Those people are generally greedy and attached to material things. So, there is a need to balance the Root Chakra.
  • Balancing Swadhisthan Chakra: This chakra deals with feeling and sexuality. If this chakra is unbalanced and under-active, one tends to be apathetic and insensitive and does not open to anybody. Overactive chakra makes you over-emotional and very sexual.
  • Balancing Manipur Chakra: After this chakra is opened sufficiently, you feel good and dignified. A person’s behavior is aggressive if the said chakra is over-active.
  • Balancing Anahat Chakra: Anahat chakra connects lower chakras to upper chakras. This chakra is associated with Peace, Love for self and others, caring attitude, con-genial relationships, compassion, empathy, awareness, forgiveness and so on. If this chakra is under-active, one’s nature is unfriendly and cold. The overactive heart chakra leads to high blood pressure, palpitation and heart attack. Persons having unbalanced anahat chakra live in fear, grief, anger, hatred and jealousy.
  • Balancing Vishudhi Chakra: The fifth chakra is located at the base of the throat which controls the thyroid and endocrine system. The throat chakra is associated with creativity, communication and self-expression. Underactive chakra makes the person feel low in self-esteem, shy and unable to express properly. Overactive chakra, a person tends to speak too much and also is a bad listener. Balanced chakra regulates the flow of hormones and all the functions of the throat and head. One can balance Throat chakra and can become a more effective communicator.
  • Balancing Ajna Chakra: Third eye chakra is located in the middle of the head. Persons with this chakra activated adequately have amazing intellect, intuition, wisdom and spiritual powers. Underactive Third Eye chakra leads to confusion. For thinking more clearly and to develop imagination and awareness one has to balance the Third Eye Chakra
  • Balancing Sahasrar Chakra: Considered to be the highest of the seven chakras and regarded as a gateway to the energy of the universe itself. The proper opening of this chakra opens the door to connect with our higher Self. Underactive chakra tends to make a person rigid in thoughts. Unbalanced crown chakra tends to create depression, boredom, frustration, and greed. For self-confidence, spiritual insight this chakra needs to be balanced adequately.

Meditating through all the chakras helps bring the entire chakra system into a balance between sympathetic & parasympathetic nervous systems. Over time you’ll be able to sense which chakras are blocked or are out of balance and will know the science of self-healing with advantage to your personal, familial and social lives.

If you find a need to experience this advanced meditation, here is a workshop by Kaivalyadhama, a leading yoga institute. This workshop will help you understand chakra meditation in depth and practice it thoroughly.

Tip: Always rely on a health care center that really cares for your wellness. Everybody knows, Kaivalyadhama cares.

Dr. Santosh Pandey

Dr. Santosh Pandey

Research Officer (CRC), Scientific Research Dept.,
Senior Yoga and Naturopathy Physician

Dr. Santosh Pandey has completed B.N.Y.S, MBA (Hospital Administration); he is also Reiki Grand master level 12, Advance Pranic Healer, PGDIA, and PGDIN. He has been awarded the President’s National award, and has also earned a Gold medal in Yoga and Naturopathy in 2005 awarded by the International Naturopathy Organization in New Delhi, India. He has over 20 years of experience.

Leave a Comment

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email